Departamento de Fisiología y Farmacología de la Universidad de Salamanca | jueves, 21 junio 2018

Welcome to the web site of the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology of the University of Salamanca, where you will be able to find information relating to the organization of the Department, the staff, and the teaching and research activities carried out there.

Today’s Department of Physiology and Pharmacology was founded in 1986-1987, and combined the former Departments (or Chairs) of Physiology and Pharmacology of the School of Biology, Pharmacy and Medicine as a result of the enactment of the University Reform Act (Organic Act 11/1983). This Act propitiated a constituent process in Spanish Universities that culminated in their new Autonomy Statutes and the adoption of a Department-based structure and the creation of such Departments. It is these that are responsible for the organization and development of teaching and research activities in the University.

Currently, our Department in a under the administrative remit of the School of Medicine and is composed of teaching and research staff belonging to the area of knowledge called Physiology, Pharmacology and Toxicology, together with fellowship holders and supporting administrative staff. The lecturers from both areas offer a total of 37 subjects to the more than 5,000 students that each year register for some of them. This intense and varied teaching activity is carried out at six different centres (the Schools of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Biology, Medicine, Pharmacy and Psychology, and the University College of Nursing and Physiotherapy) and is encompassed within the study plans of the following  University Degrees (new plans adapted to EHEA; European Higher Education Area) and Licenciates/Diplomates (old plans to be extingued):

  • Degree in Biology
  • Licenciate Degree in Biology
  • Degree in Biotechnology
  • Degree in Pharmacy
  • Licenciate Degree in Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
  • Degree in Dentistry
  • Licenciate Degree in Dentistry
  • Degree in Medicine
  • Licenciate Degree in Medicine
  • Degree in Nursery
  • Degree in Physiotherapy
  • Degree in Occupational Therapy

A large part of the teaching and research staff is also involved in post-graduate teaching, with 32 topics in 6 official Master’s degrees for professional specialization and initiation in research.

The research activity of the Department is developed by 9 research groups and this places us within those with the highest index of activity and scientific production in the University. The investigation of these groups addresses topics within the health sciences and covers a broad variety of important issues in physiology, pharmacology and toxicology with a basic and applied approach, in clinical practice, experimentation, and normal and pathological states, all focused on aims addressed at organic level (tissue, cellular and molecular). The intense effort and scientific excellence of the investigators forming the groups and the quality training received by young people entering the Department, is summarized every year in the Memorias Anuales (see the corresponding part in this web page), where is possible to see the production of Theses, Final Degree Projects and Minor Theses have been presented, the original articles and reviews published in indexed scientific journals and the contributions made at domestic and international congresses. Scientific groups usually received both, public and private funding, from regional, national and international projects. Finally, the members of the different research groups perform research and scientific-technical assessment work for external companies in the business sector and have a broad network of collaboration with public and private institutions and other spanish and international research groups.

Direction of the Department, july 2016


© Desde 2008. Todos los derechos reservados. © Contenidos: Dpto. de Fisiología y Farmacología de la Universidad de Salamanca
Campus "Miguel de Unamuno" Edificio Departamental • Plaza Doctores de la Reina, s/n • 37007 Salamanca. España • Mapa web
Desarrollado a partir de software libre bajo licencia GNU/GPL. © Obra: Fundación General de la Universidad de Salamanca.